top of page

COMM495: Digital Mentor--Brene Brown


Brene Brown, Ph.D., LMSW, is not only a research professor at the University of Houston, she is also an amazing thought leader and speaker--which is why I chose her. I discovered Brene during an afternoon of listening to TED talks and have followed her since. Her insight, wisdom, and pleasant affect are the trifecta of storytelling. As one who has experienced myriad traumatic events as an adult and recognizes the importance of connection and validation, I find great encouragement through Brene and share her wisdom with the families I serve.

FACEBOOK & TWITTER

The first social media account I analyzed was Ms. Brown’s Facebook page. Her audience is large—nearly 1.8 million followers, and some of her posts have 8000+ comments. Brene has a beautiful mix of blog post shares, shout-outs to teachers and authors, and candid personal insights. I love that she shares her heart as she shares posts. When she posted a quote from Game of Thrones, she shared that she can’t watch anything too violent on television. On May 31st, she posted a “Happy 23 To Me” regarding her twenty-three years sober and how it has changed her life. Her “About” tab is surprisingly terse. With all she has to offer, one would think this page would be chock-full of accolades; rather, it is simple and succinct. The “Photos” page is full of happy, uplifting images and quotes, and in every photo of her you’ll find her smiling.

The second social media account I analyzed was her Twitter, where she has nearly 674,000 followers. I wanted to see what she posted when brevity was key, and I wasn’t disappointed. She tweets more frequently than she shares on Facebook, and more readily shares opinions (sports team preferences, food preferences, etc.). My curiosity prompted me to click her “Following” tab to see her interests, which revealed that she follows an eclectic mix of thought leaders, actors, athletes, and professionals.

TAKEAWAYS

Through analyzing Brene’s Facebook and Twitter accounts, I learned that who she portrays on social media is the same person portrayed in books and TED talks. She leads through example and does it masterfully by being transparent. She tweets more frequently than she posts of Facebook, but neither are overdone or redundant--everything she shares is quality. Prior to analyzing her accounts, I saw her to be an encourager and connector with wisdom beyond her years. My opinion of her was positively reinforced after the analysis, and I was pleased with the content found in both.

A practical observation is that there is a balance to the number of posts that should be made across platforms (though the more “in demand” someone is, the more leeway they will have in the quantity). An observation about content that I will carry into my own social media accounts is that I should remain positive, encouraging, and candid; authenticity and positivity are two qualities that will never be begrudged. Brene Brown is most definitely is a digital leader, one I hope to emulate as I head into the next chapter of my life as a college graduate and business owner.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page