top of page

COMM333 Reflections


Improvements

Completion of my COMM333 ePortfolio has improved my professional presence because of the valuable content added. I’ve had the opportunity to showcase my abilities and talents through these specific assignments. Analyses have prompted and honed critical thinking in different areas, and because they are included in the ePortfolio, the work is saved and available for future clients to access. This will offer a broader view into my abilities and hopefully encourage clients to hire me as their consultant.

Favorite Aspects

My favorite aspects of the ePortfolio are ease of use, but more importantly, aesthetics. The Wix platform offers a variety of styles, which allows my personality to come through via fonts, colors, and pages. This will be a “mobile office” of sorts--what potential clients may see even before they enter a brick and mortar building. It offers a grand opportunity to create an outstanding and unforgettable first impression.

Favorite Assignment

My favorite COMM333 assignment was the ad analysis. Prior to this assignment, I had never created a video with graphics and quality sound. Going through the steps required caused me to seek out easy-to-use video creating/editing platforms. Learning how to use the video editor was fascinating, and I’ve barely scratched the surface of what is available. That educational experience combined with the content of the assignment created a whole new avenue of thinking about services I can add to my list once my business is open. I am now hyper-aware of motivational appeals and how each one has benefits and potential drawbacks. Since I spent dedicated time thinking about each one, I’ll be better equipped to help businesses and individuals through my consultation services. Challenges

The most challenging aspect of the ePortfolio of late has been finding a balance between bland and busy. I want the ePortfolio to be thorough, yet succinct, and the delivery of it to be clean. White space is an under-appreciated element of so many blogs and pages, and I tend to obsess over it. I’m just short of paranoid about creating an ePortfolio that is too busy, too overwhelming, and that causes visitors to “x” out because they’re bombarded with disharmony and visual tension in its aesthetics. I want my talent to shine via the content, not the fonts/colors/transitions that are features of the platform.

Advice

The advice I would give to future students about this part of the ePortfolio is do not wait until the last minute. The week the ad analysis video was due, I had a two-day marketing conference to attend in Roanoke, Virginia (nearly 2 hours away) for my work. Fortunately, I had begun this assignment earlier, and was able to complete all but the editing and submitting before I left town. Don’t wait until the week it’s due to begin your work! When possible, allow at least a week’s cushion between completion and submission. This allows for unexpected events, or illnesses, or simply extra time to review and edit. It also prevents undue stress. Trust me on this.

Most Interesting Components

The persuasion components that are most interesting to me are the nonverbal influence one has as a person, and the use of visual persuasion. Whether we realize it or not, we’re communicating even when we aren’t saying anything. I’ve become rather astute at reading body language, as it’s been a necessity over my 25 years of advocacy. I’ve been attuned to the nuances of the Impression Management Theory (not realizing there was a name for it.)

Additionally, from a business perspective, I’m a huge proponent of making excellent first impressions by honing one’s skills by using appropriate kinesics/haptics/proxemics/vocalics, and yes, even aesthetics. Don’t slouch. Don’t give a limp-wristed handshake. Make eye-contact. Speak up. Enunciate clearly. Dress neatly. And even consider the olfactory senses when making that first impression with a client or customer. Persuasion encompasses so many components—not just spoken words. My text book and the printed PLE materials have been highlighted and dog-eared, and are being filed in my future business’s cabinet for reference.

Visual persuasion is equally important to me in my photography. As a member of the Executive Board of Directors of our Chamber of Commerce, a volunteer for a 501(c)(3) that plans most of our local events, and the Marketing Director for our Farmers Market, it’s my job to persuade others through visual images (photography) to visit our town and county. I’ve often said I “promote Carroll County one photograph at a time.” If my final capture doesn’t evoke a positive feeling, it doesn’t get posted. The very nature of my jobs is persuasion, and my tool is my camera. New Perspective

My view of persuasion is different because I have learned so much! This was my most-looked-forward-to class so far in my educational career, and it didn’t disappoint. I already had a large interest in the subject since I’m presently a communications major, Marketing Director, and Community Services Board Facilitator, as well as a future consultant. Having Professor Lietzenmayer as the instructor was a huge perk. I’m much more confident now in my ability to deconstruct and construct persuasive messages. Whatever role I’m in, I am now better equipped to represent it because of this class. Thanks, Professor L!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page